The State Memorial and Natural Preserve "Museum-estate of Leo Tolstoy "Yasnaya Polyana"
  • krokus.jpg
  • kucherskaya.jpg
  • midpond.jpg
  • pond_eng.JPG
  • pond_eng2.jpg
  • shapka_dlya_sayta-01.jpg
  • veranda.jpg
Yasnaya Polyana Book Award

The Yasnaya Polyana Book Award is an annual Russian literary prize established by Leo Tolstoy Museum and Samsung Electronics in 2003. The Award supports classic literature tradition and monitors trends of modern literature. Three nominations of Yasnaya Polyana Book Award are «XXI century», «Modern classics» and «Childhood. Adolescence. Youth».

XXI century

To enter this nomination the book is to be nominated by literary journals, publishing house, library, literary critic, winner of the previous years or member of the jury. The book should be published after 2000 and to be written in any genre of prose to enter the nomination. The short list is announced on September, 9 at Yasnaya Polyana during International Meeting of Writers. In October the winner is announced in Moscow. The prize is 2 000 thousand rubles which is about 32 thousand dollars. The short listed authors get the sum of 1000 thousand rubles to be later on divided between them. Winners – Evgeny Vodolazkin, Yelena Katishonok, Vasily Golovanov, Zakhar Prilepin, Aleksei Ivanov.

Modern Classics

The jury discusses the candidates without telling their names to public. As a result of the discussions members of the jury choose an outstanding book firstly published before 2000 that has already become classics of the Soviet or Russian literature. The aim of the nomination is to bring back to the readers’ memory the name of an author who is still alive and whose work has perhaps been overlooked or unfairly forgotten. The prize is 1 500 thousand rubles which is about 24 thousand dollars. Winners – Valentin Rasputin, Fazil Iskander, Leonid Borodin, Anatoly Kim.

Childhood. Adolescence. Youth was introduced to celebrate Yasnaya Polyana Book Award 10 year’s anniversary in 2012. Literary journals, big and small publishers, professional titles, literary critics, members of Yasnaya Polyana Book Award jury and its winners can submit books and journal texts for consideration. The prize is 500 thousand rubles which is about 8 thousand dollars. Winners – Roman Senchin, Yuri Nechiporenko, Andrey Dmitriev.

Samsung special prize “Readers’ choice”
will award the book which was most voted by online readers. Its author is going to travel to South Korea with a professional tour. 

Foreign Literature Award was introduced in 2015 within the award development plan. Foreign Literature Award is aimed to choose the most significant foreign fiction books. A group of experts offer their candidates and forms a long list. The book should be first published after 2000 and be translated to Russian to enter the competition. Long list itself is a perfect guide to the most significant foreign books which can be a good starting point for a Russian reader to get acquainted with foreign literature. The prize is 1 000 thousand rubles. The translator of the winning book gets 200 thousand rubles. 

Foreign Literature Experts

Nikolay Alexandrov – literary critic, Echo of Moscow radio station book reviewer

Igor Alyukov – editor-in-chief at Phantom Press Publishers, translator, book reviewer

Irina Archarova – senior editor at AST Publishers

Alexander Gavrilov – literary critic

Ekaterina Genieva (RIP) – director of Foreign Literature library

Varvara Gornostaeva – editor-in-chief at Corpus Publishers

Lev Danilkin – literary critic, journalist

Gennady Kiselev – scholar, author, translator

Alexander Livergant  – editor-in-chief at Foreign Literature journal

Shashi Martynova – translator, editor-in-chief at Gayatri/LiveBook, Dodo Magic Bookroom joint-owner

Konstantin Milchin – literary critic, journalist

Anna Narinskaya – literary critic, special correspondent at Kommersant Publishing House

Yulia Rautbort – managing editor at modern foreign literature department of Eksmo

Victor Sonkin – scholar, translator, fiction and non-fiction author and translator

Galina Yuzefovich – literary critic, book reviewer at Meduza 

The first winner will be announced on October, 28. 

The jury of the Yasnaya Polyana Book Award consists of literary critics, fiction and non-fiction authors, literature researchers and journalists:

  • Pavel Basinsky, a famous literary critic.
  • Alexei Varlamov, a researcher of Russian literature of the 20th century.
  • Vladislav Otroshenko, essayist and fiction author.
  • Valentin Kurbatov, fiction author, poet and literary critic.
  • Lev Anninsky, soviet and Russian literary critic, literature researcher, writer.
  • Evgeny Vodolazkin, Russian scholar and fiction author

The jury is headed by Vladimir Tolstoy, presidential adviser on cultural affairs.

You can get further information from the Award coordinator Youlya Vronskaya

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it | +79156804308

Оценка услуг

Thematic sites


Отзывы о Ясной Поляне на